SMA Press Release

New York, NY                   For Immediate Release                       August 30, 2017
The Society of Maritime Arbitrators, Inc. (SMA) is pleased to announce the election, at its annual membership meeting, of Robert Shaw, as its President, and Nigel Hawkins as its Vice President.  Mr. Shaw succeeds James Warfield, of Morgan Stanley.  Mr. Warfield served as President of the SMA since 2013. As provided by the SMA's bylaws, Mr. Warfield, as the organization's immediate past President, will continue for one year as an ex officio member of the SMA Board of Governors. Mr. Shaw expressed the thanks of the SMA to Mr. Warfield for his exemplary service as President of the organization.

Mr. Shaw is a managing director of Sea Trade Holdings Inc., a privately-held dry bulk shipping group, and is an independent director of H=C3=B6egh LNG Partners LP, a New York Stock Exchange listed limited partnership that owns and operates floating storage and regasification units. From 2001, he was an officer and director of Navios Maritime Holdings Inc., from which he retired as president in 2006. From 1980 to 2000, he practiced maritime and commercial law at Healy & Baillie. He is a past Chairman of the Carnegie Council and the Hellenic American Chamber of Commerce and has served as US Shipowner Representative on the BIMCO Documentary Council.
Mr. Hawkins recently retired as Vice President, N.W. Johnsen & Co., Inc., 2000-2016. From 1990-2000, he was the President of "K" Line International (USA) Inc., a firm engaged in chartering of dry cargo and tanker ships. From 1977-1990, he was Vice President, at Trigon Chartering, Inc. From 1965-1977, he was with Howard Houlder & Partners Ltd., of London, and from 1970 was stationed in New York and Tokyo. Mr. Hawkins was the chairperson of the ASBA committee that overviewed the most recent revisions to the New York Produce Exchange form of time charter. 

Following the annual meeting, the elected members of the SMA's Board of Governors are:
Lucienne Bulow
Michael Fackler
Thomas Fox
Molly McCafferty
Bob Meehan
Klaus Mordhorst
Bengt Nergaard
Soren Wolmar

As provided in the SMA's bylaws, Mr. Shaw appointed two SMA members, Michael Northmore and Evangelos Venturas, to the SMA's Board of Governors, and appointed Bob Meehan, as Treasurer, and Soren Wolmar, as Secretary, of the organization.

The short professional biographies of all the SMA's members, including its officers and the members of its Board of Governors, are available for review at the SMA's website:

The SMA is a professional, nonprofit organization whose mission is to educate the general public and members of the maritime and related industries about alternative dispute resolution (ADR) and maritime law, including arbitration, mediation and conciliation, and to encourage the use of ADR for the resolution of commercial disputes in the maritime industry and international trade.

Society of Maritime Arbitrators, Inc., One Penn Plaza, 36th Floor,  New York, NY 10119

Proceedings under Covid-19 Restrictions: Updates

Headquarters: One Penn Plaza, 36th Floor, New York, NY 10119
All Correspondence: 157 New Hyde Park Road, Franklin Square, NY 11010
Telephone: (212) 786-7404
Office Manager E-mail:

© 2020