Events & News

SMA Members Election Results for Officers and Board Members

New York, NY

May 15, 2023

For Immediate Release  

At the Annual General Meeting of the Society of Maritime Arbitrators, Inc. (SMA) on May 10, 2023, SMA members re-elected LeRoy Lambert as President and Robert C. Meehan as Vice-President for two-year terms.

Mr. Lambert, an SMA member since 2016, served as Vice President in 2019-21 and was elected President for his first term in 2021.  His bio is at

Mr. Meehan, an SMA member since 2006, served as a Board Member and Treasurer from 2016-21, and was elected Vice-President for his first term in 2021.  His bio is at

Lucienne Bulow, Sandra R.M. Gluck, Daniel J. Schildt, and Robert G. Shaw were elected to two-year terms as Governors.   Ms. Bulow and Mr. Shaw are past Presidents of the SMA.  They join Austin Dooley, David Gilmartin, David W. Martowski, and George J. Tsimis on the Board.  Mr. Dooley and Mr. Martowski are also past Presidents of the SMA.  Mr. Lambert has appointed Louis Epstein and Daniel M. Gianfalla to serve one-year terms.

Molly McCafferty and Soren Wolmar were term-limited and not eligible to stand for election.  The members thanked them for their years of service on the Board.

The biographies of all SMA members can be viewed on the SMA’s website at

Founded in 1963, the SMA is a professional, nonprofit organization whose mission is to educate the general public and members of the maritime and related industries about alternative dispute resolution (ADR) and maritime law, including arbitration, mediation, and conciliation, and to encourage the use of ADR for the resolution of commercial disputes in the maritime industry and international trade.

For more information, contact Patricia Leahy,